UNESCO World Heritage on

The Routes of El legado andalusí

The 1972 Convention for the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage states that certain places on Earth have an “outstanding universal value”, and as such, they belong to the common heritage of mankind. Today, 193 countries have ratified the World Heritage Convention, as it is commonly known, and are part of an international community engaged in the joint mission of identifying and protecting the most relevant natural and cultural heritage of our planet. The World Heritage List currently includes as much as 1,121 sites (869 cultural, 213 natural and 39 mixed) throughout 167 States Parties.

Spain became a State Party in 1982, and the first declaration in Spain took place in 1984, when the Mosque of Cordoba, the Alhambra and the Generalife of Granada were registered.

Along the Routes of El legado andalusí we can admire the following World Heritage Sites, as well as UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage Sites:


        • Caliphate City of Medina Azahara (Córdoba).
        • Antequera Dolmens Site.
        • Mediterranean Diet (Intangible Cultural Heritage).
        • Fiesta of the Patios in Córdoba (Intangible Cultural Heritage).
        • Flamenco (Intangible Cultural Heritage).
        • Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza.
        • Rock Art of the Mediterranean Basin of the Iberian Peninsula.
        • Doñana National Park.
        • Cathedral, Alcázar and Archivo de Indias in Seville.
        • Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzín, Granada.
        • Historic Center of Córdoba
        • Tamboradas drum-playing rituals (Baena, Córdoba) (Intangible Cultural Heritage).
Share This